The Court Process Office

The Court Process Office was established in 1979 by Section 3 of the Court Process Act 111A following the amalgamation of the Writ Services Division of the Royal Barbados Police Force and the Chief Marshal’s Office of the Registration Department.

Enactments impacting on the functions of the Office include:

  • 1. The Court Process Act Cap.111A
  • 2. The Supreme Court of Judicature Act, Cap. 117A and the Rules of the Supreme Court 1982
  • 3. The Magistrate’s Court Act, Cap. 116A and the Magistrate’s (Criminal Procedure) Rules and The Supreme Court (Civil Procedure) Rules, 2008

Functions of the Court Process Office
The Court Process Office has a statutory mandate that is set out in Section 5 of the Court Process Office Act and includes:

  1. Execution of writs, warrants, orders for debt and the commands of any Judge or Magistrate;
  2. Service of summonses and other documents or process required to be served by the Rules of the Court;
  3. Attendance at Court when required
  4. Performance of any other functions as required by any Court.

Marshals of the Court Process Office are also required to serve summonses on persons from across the island who are summoned to attend the Supreme Court, Criminal Court for jury service pursuant to the Juries Act, Cap.115B.

Additionally, Marshals are required to serve Maintenance Orders made under the Family Law Act, Cap. 214 and the Maintenance Act, Cap. 216 as well as Protection Orders under the Domestic Violence (Protection Orders) Act, Cap. 130A.

By virtue of Barbados’ membership of the 1965 Hague Convention on the Service Abroad of Judicial and Extra Judicial Documents in Civil or Commercial Matters, the Court Process Office is required to serve foreign process officially sent to Barbados for service on persons resident here involving litigation from countries which are parties to the Hague Convention.

The Court Process Office is divided into three (3) functional divisions that are in turn further sub-divided into geographical districts servicing specific parishes as indicated below:
1. Northern Division

  • District “E” (St. Peter and St. Lucy);
  • Holetown (St. James)
  • District “F” (Belleplaine, St. Andrew and Horse Hill, St. Joseph);
  • District “D” (St. Thomas).

2. Southern Division

  • District ‘B” (St. George”)
  • District “B” (Oistins, Christ Church)
  • District “C” (St. Philip and St. John)

3. Central Division

  • St. Michael

The Office is headed by a Chief Marshal who is assisted by a Deputy Chief Marshal, Senior Marshals, Marshal 1s and Marshal 11s.